September Love

I’ve always loved September. It has too many great qualities to ignore. 🙂

My first reason for loving the month may sound a little selfish, but I can’t hide the truth. I was born on September 5th and have always loved my birthday. Now that I am older I try to stretch it to include the entire week. And, in certain years (this year!) my birthday is even a National holiday. A free day off work – it doesn’t get any better than that! I also share my week of birth with one of my very best friends, Ms. Carrie. She was born on September 6th so we invite our friends over, cook some tasty food, and exchange gifts. Of course there’s always an abundance of family time around holidays/birthdays that I also enjoy.

I have always liked learning and thus school. Summer rolls into the Iowa State fair and then straight into September and the new school year. I saw new classes as opportunities to start over, learn, and do better. I’m a smart girl, but I’m a slow kind of smart. I’m the kind that has to re-read her notes one hundred and one times to remember it. So… every year was that opportunity to try for all A’s. A new school year also meant new experiences with friends… and let’s not forget the back-to-school shopping!

Ah, what else is there to love, you ask? The weather! There are occasional sweltering hot days and some overly cool days, but overall the weather is wonderful with just a hint of chill to shoo us into fall. The change in weather also means I get to pull out my winter clothes. I always find old friends (still talking about clothing here) packed away in a tub. 🙂 The change of clothing is especially nice since I started knitting and crocheting. Yarning is a cool weather sport and thus the yarn shops are busier and have overflowing baskets and shelves of yarn.

So since I have such a love for September I decided to make a crochet hat dedicated to the month. I currently have only a newborn size hat created, but it’ll give you a peak of what’s to come. 🙂 I plan to have sizes preemie to small adult available soon!

September Babe Pattern

September Babe Pattern - Newborn Size

Oh, and don’t forget apples, squash, and the like start getting harvested around this time! YUM! What is your favorite month?? My husband also enjoys his birth month best (January), but it’s more for the cool weather and snow than anything else. 😉

Leave a Reply

Flag Counter

free counters
