Iowa State Fair

I love the Iowa State Fair. I go every year with my mom. One place we never pass up is Snakes Alive. I have a photo from every year since I was 5. It’s kind of fun to have a picture from every year, even if I do have a huge snake draped around my neck. πŸ™‚ I always make room for at least one lemonade and a corn dog… then there’s the bucket of cookies from the amazing cookie place in the Varied Industries Building… the apple cookies…Β  the pork chop on a stick… pineapple ice cream… some cotton candy and a caramel apple for mom. Oh, and don’t forget all of the free samples from the Iowa Beef Council in the Agriculture Building! There are hard boiled eggs and usually there’s some kind of milk, too! As you can see, mom and I go to the fair mostly for the ridiculous food! Ha, not really, but it is super tasty! We also go to see some of the animals, do a little people watching, and of course check out all of the awesome photography, doll houses, and needlework!

So speaking of needlework… I entered five items into the Fabric and Threads category this year. I heard that even if you don’t get a ribbon you get a good critique from the judges on how to improve. Nice! Below you will find the items I entered. It was a lot of fun making them and I think I will benefit from the experience.

While you’re looking at the pictures below… think about this… do any of you go to the fair every year?Β  Have you ever entered an item for judging to your local fair? Just how far do some of you travel to get to the fair? It’s only about a 15 minute drive for me so I consider myself lucky. πŸ™‚ Is there some other activity you do yearly with a parent/child?

^Going clockwise starting with the blue hat: Tidepool Brioche Hat, Spring Blooms Wrap; In Bloom Cloche; Owlie; Genevieve Cardigan (withdrew this entry); Frogger

^Tidepool Brioche Hat – This was a test knit for a woman by the name of Sharon Fuller. She is sharonf on Ravelry.com and I just love her design. Her pattern will soon be for sale via Ravelry.com.

^In Bloom Cloche – You may remember this cloche. It is a hat I designed not too long ago. Edit: My In Bloom Cloche received a 2nd place ribbon!

^Spring Blooms Wrap – This was a test crochet for a woman by the name of May Cheang. She is maycheang on Ravelry.com and her pattern is up for sale as well! Edit: My Spring Blooms Wrap received an honorable mention ribbon!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kinnicchick
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 11:32:33

    Great post. I think the crazy food is a big draw for my visits to the Minnesota State Fair, as well. In the past there was a terrific taco stand outside of the Grand Stand that I used to hit (pre-vegetarian days). But we always have to get deep-fried cheese curds and a bucket of cookies. It’s fun to see what the new phase on-a-stick will be, too.

    I’ve never entered anything (mostly because I’m a WI resident and our own state fair is so far away, but also I just never considered it!) in state or local fairs, but the more I see posts and rav ideas from others who are doing it, the more I like the idea. These items are lovely. When is your fair?

    Reply

    • Tasha Wells
      Aug 07, 2011 @ 15:49:30

      Hey, thanks! Indeed… the fair always has something fried and on-a-stick! I think last year it was deep fried Twinkies. I didn’t indulge. πŸ˜‰

      The Iowa Ravelers board is one of the reasons I was prompted to enter an item. A lot of folks were discussing their great experiences. You should take the leap some year. I assume fairs are similar and many from Iowa were sending their items through the mail because of the distance. Even if you don’t make it to the fair – it would sure be nice to get a blue ribbon of sorts in the mail, eh? πŸ™‚

      And our fair begins on Thursday, August 11th. I am excitedly waiting!

      Reply

  2. Carrie!
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 18:54:39

    Congrats on your 2nd place and Honorable Mention Mrs. Tasha. πŸ™‚

    Deep fried butter is the thing this year. It’s the 100 year anniversary for the butter cow.

    Reply

    • Tasha Wells
      Aug 11, 2011 @ 11:29:27

      My mom told me about the deep fried butter. I thought it sounded disgusting but then she explained what goes into it… It’s a bit of butter deep fried and then covered with cinnamon and sugar. And maybe icing but I forget… Basically it is a cinnamon roll on a stick!!

      And congratulations to you as well!!

      Reply

  3. Carrie!
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:40:40

    Yep, it’s a stick of butter covered in cinnamon-flavored batter. It ends up looking like a corn dog. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Carrie!
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:44:15

    Oh, and thank you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flag Counter

free counters
