Referrals & Bearded Warmth Pattern

Around October 2010 I was browsing Etsy.com and found what I thought to be the coolest hat ever. It was a hat with a beard and mustache attached. I asked Aaron, my husband, if he would ever wear it. He said, “sure”, he would wear it while running to keep his face warm. I asked the Etsy seller if I could purchase her pattern, but she declined. So….. I made my own beard and mustache pattern! (For sale here!)

It probably took me three days to come up with the final design and then I had it tested by some kind folks in the Ravelry.com community. During this time I posted some pictures of my first creation on Facebook. What a hoot! My friends and family loved it! An old family friend requested four for Christmas gifts. Of course I took her up on the deal and made two knit hats and two crochet hats with attached beards.

Thankfully she liked the finished product! Woo hoo! It turns out her sister-in-law also liked said hats and requested two today. I consider this my first real sale as it is the first product I have crafted to be purchased by a person I do not know. Yay for 2011 and the opportunities it holds!

Also, this is a good reminder for anybody who makes a purchase from me or anybody else…. referrals rock! If you enjoy your finished creation then let others know where you got it. 😉

Bearded Warmth Beanie


Click here to purchase through PayPal for $2.99!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cyncerely
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 23:25:09

    I also was looking for a beard pattern and I must have asked the same etsy seller and she declined and then I found your pattern and lo and behold you were back to active status on etsy again! Yea! I purchased your pattern right away. I’m looking forwad to making it up. It looks great!

    thanks, cyn

    Reply

  2. canadian-crocheter
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 11:19:07

    hey, my boyfriend really wants one of these hats, and I would love to buy your pattern for the beard, but it’s no longer for sale on Etsy! 😦 is there any possible way for me to buy the pattern off you? I’ve looked all over the Inter-webs for another pattern but no one else has one that’s as good as yours. Please let me know if there is any way for me to get this pattern!

    Thanks!
    Jessica

    Reply

    • Tasha Wells
      Mar 20, 2011 @ 12:07:31

      Hi, Jessica. Thank you for inquiring! I have been trying to streamline my sales lately and thus have not renewed the beard pattern on Etsy as of yet – my apologies! However, I recently created a link on my “For Sale” page here on the blog. It uses PayPal as a checkout method just like Etsy, but you will get your purchase immediately upon payment. I have put the link below and it is the very first item on the page. I hope you and your boyfriend enjoy it. 🙂 Let me know if you have any questions!

      https://k1sewtoo.wordpress.com/for-sale/

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Flag Counter

free counters
